Breaking News

Invention of laser won the Nobel Prize in Physics 2018

An American scientist, two Canadian scholars won the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics with a $ 1 million prize.

Nobel Prize winners will be awarded a medal in 18K gold. Photo:

The 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics goes to researchers Arthur Ashkin, Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland for their breakthrough inventions in laser physics, according to the Guardian. The award was announced by Göran K. Hansson, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, at 16:55 Hanoi time. The winning scholar will win a prize of $ 1 million.

Invention in laser physics won the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics Mr. Göran K. Hansson announced the names of three winning physicists. Video: Twitter.

Arthur Ashkin, an American physicist, was awarded half of the award for inventing optical tweezers, a type of light trap that allows light to control small particles. Ashkin’s optical tweezers secure particles, atoms and molecules with a laser finger. It can inspect and control viruses, bacteria and other living cells without causing damage, providing an opportunity to observe and control living organisms.

Steps for light traps. Photo: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Physicists Gérard Mourou (French) and Donna Strickland (Canadian) receive the other half of the awards for their method of generating intense ultra-short optical pulses. This technique is called Ultra Short Laser Pulse Amplification or CPA. Sharp laser beam can cut or drill holes through a variety of materials with extreme precision, even with living matter. Technology helps perform eye surgeries for millions of people every year.

Explanation of laser pulse amplification method extremely short. Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

This year’s Nobel Prize-winning invention revolutionized laser physics, helping researchers discover microscopic objects and super-fast processes. These ultra-precision devices open up new fields of research, with many industrial and medical applications.

Strickland of the University of Waterloo, Ontairo, became the first woman to win a Nobel Prize in Physics since Maria Goeppert Mayer received this honor in 1963 for research on nuclear shell structures. She is the third woman in history to win the prestigious Nobel Prize in Physics.

Last year, the award went to three researchers Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish and Kip Thorne for their discovery of gravitational waves, ripples in the space-time field, born of intense events like a wax black hole. import.

Nobel is an international award established by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm in 1901 based on the assets of Alfred Nobel, Swedish inventor and businessman. Awards are awarded annually to individuals and organizations with outstanding contributions in the fields of Medicine, Chemistry, Physics, Literature, Peace. In 1968, the Central Bank of Sweden established the Bank of Sweden Prize for Economic Science in tribute to the Nobel Prize, also known as the Nobel Prize in Economics. Each award includes a medal, proof of identity and a bonus. From 1901-2017, awards were awarded 585 times to 923 individuals and organizations around the world.

Science Department

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *